top of page

Hunt of a Lifetime

As many know, I was fortunate enough to go on my first elk hunt a few weeks ago through Trophy Ridge Outfitters in Luna, New Mexico. It has been almost impossible to share every memory because the experience was so overwhelming. I literally felt every emotion in just a week’s time, but there’s one moment I haven’t yet talked about and I’m fighting tears as I begin to type. This story was told by one of my amazing guides, Roger McQueen.

Roger, my dad, and I had been stalking a bull one morning for a while but didn’t have any luck. The cows busted us and we didn’t want to push him any further in hopes that he would show up at the nearby tank that evening, so we headed to the lodge for breakfast. I don’t remember how the subject came about, but on the drive back Roger shared with us that several years back he had guided a young man named Billy through Hunt of a Lifetime. It’s a nonprofit organization with a mission to grant hunting & fishing dreams for children age 21 and under, who have been diagnosed with life threatening illnesses. Billy was battling Leukemia and had dreams of harvesting a bull elk. Roger told us how he had found a bull bedded down but it was about a 300-yard hike to get to him. The young man had a great attitude and was so sure he could make it that far, but he was struggling by 100 yards. They stopped to take a break, and Roger asked him, “You think you can hold onto me?” and Billy replied he could. Roger then picked him up and carried him on his back. They got within shooting range and Billy made a perfect shot, taking home a trophy bull. He has since passed away but the memory is with Roger forever. My dad and I were both crying in the truck as we heard this story. I’ll never forget when my dad looked over at Roger in the driver’s seat and said, “Bless you Roger.” It was one of the most special moments of my trip. To view the full story, click here.

What brought me to share this touching story was the text I received this morning. Roger sent me a picture of another Hunt of a Lifetime recipient that he guided Monday, October 5, named Meagan Vess. She just finished her last chemo treatment in April for Leukemia at age 14, after being diagnosed at the young age of 11. With the help of Troy Taylor, Roger found a bull bedded down for Meagan to hunt and they each had to hold her by the arms to help her get within 45 yards. Her bones are brittle, making it difficult for her to squat, so they carried shooting sticks on the hunt in order for her to take a shot while standing. She was able to take a shot and harvest a bull of a lifetime. In Roger’s own words, “She is a strong little girl. Greater powers were with us to get that close and get it done.”

I feel so blessed to say that I met and was personally guided by both of these men at different times on my trip. Anyone who has the patience, desire, and heart to guide a young child that’s fighting for their life is an angel in my eyes. It is truly humbling to hear these stories and meet people who are making a difference in other people’s lives – not because they have to, but because they want to. I am forever grateful for the memories made and to still be in touch with the wonderful people at Trophy Ridge Outfitters.


 ABOUT ME 
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page