top of page

Doe Down | Belton, TX


This was my first time using Ozonics and honestly I thought it was a joke. I planned on buying it, hating it, and returning it. But I had to try it with all the hype built up around it, and lets just say I saw multiple does DOWNWIND of me while using it. I'm sold!

This happens to be my very first kill while sitting by myself since I picked up a bow. I thoroughly enjoy the alone time while hunting, and I'll shoot hogs all day by myself, but I'm so nervous about shooting a deer that's too young. Whitetail can be extremely tricky to age, and I'm such a perfectionist that I don't want to mess up! The cool thing is, you truly learn so much more hunting alone because you have no choice. I didn't have someone next to me reminding me to load my arrow or range different objects to prepare myself, and I dang sure didn't have anybody there to remind me to BREATHE!! The adrenaline was pumping like no other.

I was in a treestand and she was around 18 yards away, turned broadside and walking left. This is where my first mistake comes in. I should've stopped her with a grunt, a whistle, literally anything! One step can make a huge difference on where that arrow will enter, and therefore in the outcome of your hunt. As you can somewhat see from the picture, this shot was further back than I planned. It wasn't a gut shot, but it was extremely close. It sounded like I thumped a watermelon when the arrow hit and she bloated rather quickly. Due to my poor decision, she ran a bit. I had my dog help track her because there wasn't as much blood as I would've liked, even with an expandable rage broadhead. In the end, we found her before it got too hot, but I was starting to get sick about the whole deal when she was pushing 75 yards away.

I honestly can say that I'm not sure we would've found her if I wasn't shooting a rage broadhead. This is such a hot topic in the hunting industry - whether to shoot fixed or mechanical or slipcam, 2 blades or 3 blades, what grain, and what cutting diameter. I have found the most success with Rage 3-blade broadheads because of the massive entry holes that provide a more reliable blood trail. Also, I have seen the rage put animals down, even with a poor shot, on numerous occasions. Although I strive to be the best shot possible, I make mistakes like anybody else. This is why I often rely on the Rage.

 ABOUT ME 
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page